To write, perchance to dream…

And I feel like I’m naked in front of the crowd
Cause these words are my diary, screaming out loud
And I know that you’ll use them however you want to…

~Anna Nalick, Breathe (2 AM)

I’ve never been much good at keeping a diary.

I’ve often wished I were. I’ve heard diary-keeping touted as a means to organizing your life, becoming a more reflective individual, improving your prayer life, improving your writing, and keeping your waistline slimmer. Heaven knows I could use all those things. But despite my best attempts, I’ve never been able to keep at it for more than a stretch of ten days at a time. Why is that? It’s not that my life is so boring and my thoughts so banal that I have nothing to say. It’s definitely not that I hate writing. In fact, I often caught myself composing the events of my life diary-style in my head. So why do none of these words ever make it onto the page? Do I just hate holding pencils that much?

…Maybe.

But in actuality, I think my problem is different. I think my problem is that I, when I’m writing, already know the things I want to write down. Informing myself in such a time-consuming way doesn’t hold that much interest for me. (Either that, or I’m just lazy. It’s a toss-up.) But you, whoever you are, however you came here, you don’t know. So to you I write.

Welcome.

I’m Starry, avid reader, amateur critic, and fledgling writer, among other things. This blog is essential a hodge-podge of my thoughts on stories, whether they be in books I’ve read, films or television that I’ve seen, my own writing, or in real life. My interests are wide and varied, and hopefully this blog will be too. To be truthful, I’m not exactly sure right now what form this blog will take, but I know it’s an adventure waiting to be started.Come along, if you like. I don’t know where we’re going or how we’ll get there and I don’t  promise that we won’t end up in poison ivy and stickerbushes as often as we glimpse scenic vistas, but I do pledge to be an interesting traveling companion along the way.

~ by Morgan Star on July 11, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
